About NEET

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test or NEET-UG is a medical entrance examination in India for admission to MBBS & BDS courses in government and private medical and dental colleges run with the approval of Medical Council of India/Dental Council of India under the Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India. .

NEET: Information at a glance

  • Exam Name : National Eligibility cum Entrance Test
  • Popularly known as: NEET
  • Exam Level : National
  • Exam Category : UG Entrance Exam
  • Exam Conducting Body : Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)

NEET-UG, for MBBS and BDS courses will be conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE). In 2016, AIPMT was replaced by NEET-UG. The exam was conducted in two phases – NEET Phase 1 (May 1) and NEET Phase II (July 24).

It is to be noted that Undergraduate courses at AIIMS in New Delhi, Postgraduate Institute for Medical Education and Research in Chandigarh, JIPMER are beyond NEET’s ambit.

In July 2016, NEET got legal status. Lok Sabha passed a bill making NEET a single and common entrance exam for admission to medical and dental courses in India. The new law is applicable for both private and government colleges. The bill received approval from Rajya Sabha too.

Candidates appearing for NEET 2017 must take note of its eligibility criteria, paper pattern, important dates, application procedure carefully.